Introducing Technically Write IT – Video Project

During my cooperative education I worked with a technical writing company called Technically Write IT. I worked on a number of jobs of which varied from easy to challenging. Some of my main roles/responsibilities included administering and updating the company’s client database, communicating with potential customers indirectly (using social media such as LinkedIn, Twitter, and Facebook), working on content for their website and blog, managing blog feedback, managing files in their content repository and Dropbox account, helping proofread and edit content, exploring ways to integrate video, animation, and graphics into text-based deliverables. Working in a start-up company such as Technically Write IT showed a unique insight into many aspects of business.

Whilst working with Technically Write IT, the biggest project I took part in was creating and designing a short (under 3 minutes) graphical information video with Adobe After Effects (AE). It explains what the company does in a fun and animated way. Graphical information videos are a great way of visually portraying information without using too much text. The process for making the video was long and tedious, but the result was worth it. The beginning of the video started with Patrice writing the script for the video after which I designed a simple storyboard illustrating possible scenes for the video. It gave me a starting point and from there I started creating the video using AE. I quickly learned how to use the new software but the video still took quite a while to create. With a lot of changes and experimenting with different ideas and concepts from brain storming regularly with Patrice, by the end the video flowed seamlessly and depicted perfectly everything that Technically Write IT is about. It is the project I am most proud of that I completed during my time with Technically Write IT.


Throughout my time with Technically Write IT I had many opportunities to learn and develop new skills as well as improving old skills. Before working with Technically Write IT I hadn’t had much experience in any kind of working environment, but I found that working in an office environment offered new and unique experiences. Working for Technically Write IT has given me the opportunity to work with interesting programs like After Effects, Photoshop, and InDesign, all of which I was eager to learn as much as I could.

Leave a comment

Tadhg O'Flaherty

Games Developer

Void of the Wordless

Shane's thoughts on Games Code Art Books

Lukes-Site

Gravity-It's not just a good idea, it's the LAW!

Some general vizardry

Life, gardening and like stuff

Player Two

Ludology from a developer

Graham P Curran

Sailor, Gamer, Developer, Student